Procrastination

Amidst our preparation yesterday, I was able to do something that’s been on the to do list for a while…
It all started in 1987, when I bought a Honda 250 from motorcycle enthusiast and all around good guy, Dave. That motorcycle got me to school, to work, and to friends. Perfect for gas mileage and very cool. Well, except that this 6-4, 170 lb. lanky kid was driving it, but I digress. Skip forward to 2013, three motorcycles later, and 30 lbs. heavier. One constant over that period was that I never had a motorcycle endorsement on my license. I’d always driven on a learner’s permit meaning I 1) had to wear a helmet (I did), 2) couldn’t have passengers (I did), and 3) couldn’t drive sunset to sunrise (I did). So armed with 25 years of experience, I finally took the skills test yesterday and became an accredited operator. Now as we embark on our great adventure and the bike is stored away for the next 10 months, I can rest comfortably knowing that I could ride it legally if I were home.

As for that old 250, Mom sold it while I was away at Purdue. I’d like to think that someone is still enjoying it somewhere.

20130807-070955.jpg

One response to “Procrastination

  1. This gets better and better as we see the “biker” experience merging into the gypsy culture! Maybe this adventure will become too educational. Can Elizabeth ride or will she stay by the campfire telling fortunes?

Leave a Reply

